Why Twitter is so important to your professional growth

Twitter is such a powerful tool when it comes to professional development. Many people choose to use Twitter for both personal and professional chatting and that is okay. However, some choose to use it only for their PLN. I choose to use it in this way. The vast amount of information that is shared on Twitter can sometimes be a bit overwhelming, but the support from the Twitter community is amazing. I know that if I read something from someone I follow and can’t find it, my fellow tweeters will come to my rescue!

One of the greatest resources that I have found through my Twitter connections are specific group chats! There are many #hastag chat sessions out there, but a few that I am fond of are #iaedchat and #celebratemonday.  #iaedchat is held on Sunday evenings from 8:00 p.m. – 9:00 p.m. (CST) and helps me to set the tone for my usually crazy busy week ahead. The chats that are held are usually very meaningful and very applicable to most of what I do during the week.

If you have never used Tweetdeck (https://tweetdeck.twitter.com/) give it a try. It allows you to follow many  of your #hashtags in one area. I like to have my tweetdeck open and running in the background so if I get a chance I can see what new ideas are out there that people are talking about. Many people start out on Twitter by lurking and just following people and that is okay. It gives you practice with the Twitter lingo and a chance to see how people interact.

Am I using Twitter to its fullest potential? No way! Am I trying to learn and participate more? Absolutely! Give it a try – you won’t be sorry!

 

 

Leave a Reply

